Mount Olympus – The home of the Twelve Olympian gods

The highest mountain in Greece. It is located in the Olympus Range on the border between Thessaly and Macedonia, between the regional units of Pieria and Larissa. The highest peak, Mytikas, meaning “nose”, rises to 2,917 metres.

In Ancient Greek religion and mythology, “Olympus” was the name of the home of the Twelve Olympian gods of the ancient Greek world.

Mount Olympus / Image: Athanasios Theodorakopoulos

Thessalian Olympus is the highest peak in any territory with Greek settlement and came to be seen as the representative of the mythological seat of the gods, by at least the 5th century BC, as Herodotus identifies Olympus as the peak in Thessaly.

In Pieria, at Olympus’s northern foot, the mythological tradition had placed the nine Muses, patrons of the Fine Arts, daughters of Zeus and the Titanide Mnemosyne.

The Twelve Olympian gods

  • Zeus
  • Hera
  • Athena
  • Apollo
  • Poseidon
  • Ares
  • Artemis
  • Demeter
  • Aphrodite
  • Hestia

  • Hermes
  • Hephaistos

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Monuments & World historical events in their nowadays location. Stories,Politics,Sciences,Arts and Entertainment,Sports,Objects and much more

Follow Us