Twelve Olympians – The main residence of the Olympian gods in Dion-Olympos

The highest mountain in Greece. It is located in the Olympus Range on the border between Thessaly and Macedonia, between the regional units of Pieria and Larissa. The highest peak, Mytikas, meaning “nose”, rises to 2,917 meters.

Thessalian Olympus is the highest peak in any territory with Greek settlement and came to be seen as the representative of the mythological seat of the gods, by at least the 5th century BC, as Herodotus identifies Olympus as the peak in Thessaly.

Mount Olympus is notable in Greek mythology as the home of the Greek gods / Image source

In Pieria, at Olympus’s northern foot, the mythological tradition had placed the nine Muses, patrons of the Fine Arts, daughters of Zeus and the Titanide Mnemosyne.

In ancient Greek religion and mythology, the twelve Olympians are the major deities of the Greek pantheon, commonly considered to be Zeus, Hera, Poseidon, Demeter, Athena, Apollo, Artemis, Ares, Hephaestus, Aphrodite, Hermes, and Hestia. They were called Olympians because, according to tradition, they resided on Mount Olympus.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Contact Us