Hong Kong–Zhuhai–Macau Bridge on the Pearl River Delta

Hong Kong–Zhuhai–Macau Bridge on the Pearl River Delta

The Bridge is a 55-kilometre bridge–tunnel system consisting of a series of three cable-stayed bridges, an undersea tunnel, and four artificial islands.

It is both the longest sea crossing and the longest open-sea fixed link on earth. The Bridge spans the Lingding and Jiuzhou channels, connecting Hong Kong, Macau, and Zhuhai—three major cities on the Pearl River Delta.

Map of Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macau Bridge / Image: travelchinaguide.com

On 24 October 2018, was opened to the public after its inauguration a day earlier by Chinese leader Xi Jinping.

Construction of project began on 15 December 2009 on the Chinese side. Construction of the Hong Kong section of the project began in December 2011 after a delay caused by a legal challenge regarding the environmental impact of the bridge.

Construction of the Main Bridge, consisting of a viaduct and an undersea tunnel, was completed on 6 July 2017, and the entire construction project was completed on 6 February 2018.

Hong Kong–Zhuhai–Macau Bridge / Image: Xinhua News
Traffic flows through an entranceway to an underwater section of the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge / Image: Xinhua News

Featured Image: Hong Kong–Zhuhai–Macau Bridge /Image: Tuchong

Websites: hzmb.gov.hk

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.