The oldest historical record of a building at the location of the current castle dates to 1391. The castle remained in the ownership of the De Haar family until 1440, when the last male heir died childless.
The castle then passed to the Van Zuylen family. In 1482, the castle was burned down and the walls were torn down, except for the parts that did not have a military function. These parts probably were incorporated into the castle when it was rebuilt during the early 16th century.
It fell into disrepair in the 18th and 19th centuries. Architect Pierre Cuypers restored and rebuilt De Haar for baron Etienne van Zuylen van Nijevelt van de Haar. The rebuilding took from 1892 till 1912 and was a project unique of its kind in all of Europe.
Cuypers’ grand design included not just the architecture of the castle but also the interiors, the gardens, the chapel.The park and gardens surrounding De Haar Castle – covering over 135 acres of land.
The interior of the castle is decorated with richly ornamented woodcarving which was made in the workshop of Cuypers in Roermond. The place where later also the interiors of many Roman Catholic churches were made, designed by Cuypers.
Is also furnished with many works of the Rothschild collections, including beautiful old porcelain from Japan and China, and several old Flemish tapestries and paintings with religious illustrations.
Featured Image: Kasteel de Haar – De Haar Castle / Image: amsterdamtips.com