A 19th-century fortress in present-day Belarus to commemorate the defense of the frontier stronghold during the first week of the German-Soviet War of 1941-1945 when Axis forces invaded the Soviet Union with the launch of Operation Barbarossa on June 22, 1941. In the late 1960s, the construction of the war memorial complex was started. Opened on September 1971.
The main part of the memorial is the Square of Ceremonies, leading to the Museum of the Defense of Brest fortress and the ruins of the White Palace. It comprises the barracks, gunpowder bunkers, forts and other fortifications, the museum of the defense, located on the site of the old fortress, along with the Main Entrance, the entry represents a huge star cut into a concrete block.
The “Thirst”, a large monument depicting an injured soldier trying to get some water from the river. The monument reflects the bravery of the last remaining soldiers who defended the Fortress for many days without food or water.
The Bayonet Obelisk, 90 meter high, can be seen from any part of the fortress, and is linked to the main Courage monument by 3 rows of tombstones. Only 216 of the 850 defenders who died here are known.
The Courage monument stands 30 meter high and tells the story of the heroic defense of the fortress through a series of carvings. There is an eternal flame which is guarded by 4 teenagers from the Pioneers Corps.
There is an Eternal Fire in front of the remnants of the former engineering department. Further in to the Fortress the iconic Kholmsky Gate, with its bullet-riddled walls.